Licensed Lay Worship Leaders and Designated Lay Ministers

The Licensed Lay Worship Leadership program encourages members of the laity to share their gifts while meeting the vital need of congregations to gather for worship. Licensed Lay Worship Leaders have completed an educational program which provides resources and enhances their understanding of worship practices in The United Church of Canada, and have been recognized by the Lay Leadership Support Committee.

Designated Lay Ministers are laypersons, recognized by a Regional Council and accountable to the Office of Vocation. They have completed a training program, and have accepted a leadership role for defined periods of time, and for defined forms of service.

Communities of Faith are expected to remunerate Licensed Lay Worship Leaders and Designated Lay Ministers in accordance with the rate determined by the Lay Leadership Support Committee each year. It is to be noted that this rate is a minimum. When leading worship on a multi-point Pastoral Charge, it is expected that they would receive more the minimum rate, but not necessarily the full rate for each worship service. When leading worship in the Pastoral Charge where their membership is held, it is expected that Licensed Lay Worship Leaders will receive the same honorarium as any lay member of the Pastoral Charge.

For 2024, the Lay Leadership Support Committee has matched the United Church minimum Supply rate of **\$247.00**, plus travel and related expenses, for Licensed Lay Worship Leaders and Designated Lay Ministers. This is intended to cover preparation for and leadership of worship only.

Licensed Lay Worship Leaders: 2024

Last Name	First Name	Home Pastoral Charge	Telephone	Email Address
Anderson	Creeann	Irma-Viking	780-660-6109	creeferg@gmail.com
Bailey	Catherine	Two Hills-Myrnam	780-657-3550	c.bailey@telus.net
Bamforth	Emily	Grande Prairie: St. Paul's	514-604-6113	ebamforth@dinomuseum.ca
Boschman	Barb	Two Hills-Myrnam	780-657-2216	barbbosc@telus.net
Faber	David	Riverbend Edmonton	780-983-3253	dfaber@shaw.ca
Gerrits	Eileen	Manning-Deadwood	780-836-3793	egerrits@telusplanet.net
Goin	Gaie	Wetaskiwin	780-352-8505	gaie.goin@gmail.com
Hughes	Sherrie	Hardisty-Hughenden	780-888-7085	tomsherriehughes@gmail.com
Lent	David	Westlock	780-349-9727	davelent47@gmail.com
Loewen	Carol	Spirit of Hope	780-435-6832	caloewen@telus.net
Penny	Leslie	Barrhead	780-674-2072	rlpenny5@gmail.com
Robinson	Elie	Grimshaw-Peace River	780-332-1450	moon55@telus.net
Rosser	Merlin	Winterburn	780-418-8056	mjrosser@shaw.ca
Silverthorne	Susan	Wetaskiwin	780-352-9965	silverthorne@xplornet.com
St. Goddard	Jackie	Fort Saskatchewan	780-554-3851	stgod@telus.net
Tanner	Trudy	Hinton	780-865-5141	trudy2richardtanner@hotmail.com
Verdin	Paul	Robertson-Wesley	780-490-1688	pverdin@telusplanet.net
Verdin	Lesley	Robertson-Wesley	780-490-1688	lverdin@telus.net
Williams	Gayle	Spirit River	780-864-8717	gewill159@gmail.com

Click here for the full Licensed Lay Worship Leader Policy 2024.

Retired Designated Lay Ministers Available for Sunday Supply

Name	Home	Telephone	Email Address
Phyllis Greenslade, DLM-Retired	Edmonton AB	780-475-6943	pgreenslade4545@gmail.com
Karen Gusek, DLM-Retired	Ardrossan AB	780-922-2710	karengusek@telus.net